Regular attendance in school is essential for successful class work. Any student
who is absent must bring a written note from his parent/guardian on the day of his return. The note should go to the teacher.
Absences are divided into the following two categories:
1. Absences accompanied by a doctor’s written excuse or due to a death in the immediate family. South Carolina State Law calls these “lawful absences.”
2. Absences due to fever, cold, flu, etc. which are taken at the parent’s discretion. South Carolina State Law calls these “unlawful absences.”
Students in grades K-5 through eighth grade may not have more than ten “unlawful
absences.” Students in grades 9th – 12th may not have more than ten unlawful absences” in a class to receive credit for that class. All other absences after ten must either be due to a death in the immediate family or accompanied by a doctor’s written excuse. More than ten “unlawful absences” may cause the child not to be promoted to the next grade. If any student in the 9-12 grades exceeds 10 unexcused absences, to avoid failing for the year, they will need to attend a scheduled Saturday school from 8:00 – 12:00 at a charge of $25 per day.
Attendance at a school-sponsored trip is credited as a regular school day. An absence from the field trip will be counted as an unexcused, missed day. No accommodations will be made at the school for students choosing to not go on the field trip.
Any student absent from school will not be allowed to participate in a representative capacity in any after-school activity that day, unless his absence during the day was for a doctor’s appointment or was pre-arranged with the administrator.
It is important that every student be present in their respective classrooms when school begins at 8:10. Therefore, in grades 7-12 the following action will be followed: After every third tardy it will be required for that student to serve a one hour detention at the cost of $4.00 per detention served. A student will be considered tardy if he or she is not in the classroom at 8:10. Also, since Bible Class is the first class of the day, all unexcused tardies and absences will result in a point being deducted from that quarter's Bible grade for each tardy or absence.
Any students arriving after 8:10 a.m. or leaving before 3:00 p.m. must be signed in/ or out in the front office.